• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

A833 Overdrive Grinding/whining noise? Normal?

DirtyBird

Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here, please be patient :)

I had a guy do enough work on my bird to get it in driving condition before it got shipped to me in California.
I asked him to swap the original 4 speed for an overdrive so I could cruise the freeway from time to time (and I could not afford a Tremec, Passon kit or other tranny at the moment).
He found an A833 OD in decent shape and swapped it out for me (Yes, I kept the old 4 speed!)

I did some research when I was looking for that OD option and I know about the Passon kit for this OD, and I also read something about having to make some modifications when performing this swap....but when I talked to the guy who installed it, he said its a straight swap. I trusted him as he knows way more than I do about cars.

So I now have the car and have been driving it around town. It seems to shift fine but makes this whiny grinding noise in 1st and 2nd gear when I release the gas (when the rpms go down). Also when I start it up, sometimes I hear the tranny whinning or grinding or something... it doesn't sound right...

I asked him about this and he said these trannys where just known for being loud and making noise....but something doesn't feel right and I'm worried that its not just a simple swap...I'm running 3.55 gears, posi and a 69 dated 440.

I know I'm not great at describing this but I'll get better once I read more and find my Bird voice :)

Thanks for any and all help/advice, it's much appreciated!

Last edited:

69hemibeep

Sponge Bob Square Wheels
Reaction score
Is it an OD trans Aluminum case? Or the kit in a A833. The Aluminum OD is weak and meant to be used with small engines

DirtyBird

Reaction score