• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Block number help PLEASE

69RRunnerCon

Reaction score
Hey everybody, if you look at my profile I recently purchased a 69 Roadrunner convertible, all blue. The gentlemen we purchased it from is a Mopar nut LOL, and said that the car is all original, as it appears to be to us as well. My one question I have is on my block numbers, could someone verify for me that this is the correct motor that went in this car?
They are 248813012 LL D N I with a date code at the top right 5-18-67. Could someone please tell me if this is the correct block for this car, or what it came out of? I am totally new to this. Any information would be of great value and very very appreciated!!!!!

Russ69Runner

Reaction score
What quikbird said. The date would be rite on even if it is a 68 car they made a bunch of those blocks early on.

69hemibeep

Sponge Bob Square Wheels
Reaction score
There is a machined surface below the passenger side motor mount that the VIN is stamped on. The raised numbers are part and date numbers.

dmartin

Reaction score
It may or may not be painted mine was not but it is a little flat spot

RonLiv

Reaction score
In my non-expert opinion.

Casting number 2488130 as far as I can determine does not exist. At least in the Mopar world. Are you sure it is not 2468130? This number would be for a 383 block, and was used from 68 to 71 models. The casting date of 5-18-67 has me somewhat suspicious that this engine was originally in a 1968 car, but it very well could be in a 1969 since it is the same block. The engine seems to be painted the correct color for a 1969, but that can be changed as well very easily. Is there any blueish paint on the block anywhere that you can see?