Wiper motor question

Other Tech Stuff

  1. Bill Monk

    Bill Monk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Location:
    Dunbar, WV
    My wipers aren't working and I'm almost postive it's the motor but here's the question: The car has a 3 speed motor in it but the switch is the 3 position rocker switch. Is that correct or has somebody swapped in a 3 speed motor where a 2 speed was? Based on the switch, it would seem to be off, low, high.
     
  2. abodybill

    abodybill Senior Citizen Member

    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    MI. Farm
    Three speed wipers have 4 spots off, low, med, high and if your switch only has 3 then I don't think the wiper motor will run.

    The 3 speed wiper was used in the cars with the air grabber systems so as to clear the air cleaner.
     
  3. droptop

    droptop Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    I agree with Bill. You need a 3 speed switch or a 2 speed motor.
     
  4. abodybill

    abodybill Senior Citizen Member

    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    MI. Farm
    If you have the 440 6bbl setup you have the big air cleaner as my air grabber car has so I would check and see if the motor is good and if so just buy a 3 speed wiper switch. just my .02
     
  5. Big John

    Big John Sit back, relax Don't bitch about the cigar smoke

    Messages:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Is that going to use the same wiring harness for both switches and motors??
     
  6. Bill Monk

    Bill Monk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Location:
    Dunbar, WV
    Good question. This may explain why they aren't working if I have incompatable switch/motor. Since my car was an original 383 and it has a 6bbl now, maybe someone swapped it out for clearance. The wiper connector at the firewall fits but that may not matter, I'm not sure. It's also possible somebody swapped that out as well. This is going to take some investigating. The fender tag should answer part of the mystery. I understand that it should be J25 if it had the 3 speed motor so I'll check that out this evening. Anybody know if there is a code for the 2 speed motor so I'll know what to look for?
     
  7. bigmanjbmopar

    bigmanjbmopar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

Share This Page