• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

electrical issue

mcmopar

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm no automotive electrician so I'm going to run this by you. when I went to Old Town this past Saturday I noticed a problem - well 2 - with the runner.
1st - It was charging wildly on the way there. I just attributed this to the fact that it has not been driven in about 2 months. On the way back the needle in the amp guage started to back off so I think my suspicions are correct on this.
2nd - when I shut the car off and turn the key over to the auxilliary position in order to power the stereo the needle on the amp guage swings HARD to the discharge position and I hear an audible sound as it does so. Its just a quick noise that is not sustained. I'm wondering if the ignition switch, starter relay or something else has gone bad. What do you all think?

Big John

Sit back, relax Don't bitch about the cigar smoke
Reaction score
I'll bet it's the ammeter itself. The noise might be the needle hitting the stop when it shows discharge. The other thing that comes to mind is some sort of huge electrical draw (like a dead short) in system somewhere.

If it was just charging, then I would suspect a regulator, battery or possibly even a battery cable.

Big John

Sit back, relax Don't bitch about the cigar smoke
Reaction score
Check output voltage when the engine is running at the battery and inside the car someplace like the cigar lighter. Check it again with your stereo on and then repeat those voltage checks with the engine off.

SomeCarGuy

Reaction score
Take one wire off the back of that junky amp meter and just put it on the other stud.

Add volt gauge

Run shunt in 8 gauge wire from back of alt to stater relay. 12 guage fusible link.