• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1969 RR Steering Wheel

w8kbrder

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to the roadrunner family...doing some research as I'm interested in picking up a '69. My question it this: Did the 1969 Roadrunner only come with one type of steering wheel, or were there more than one? I see a lot with the tri-style center steering wheel with the chrome half circle. But I've seen a few with a more simple wheel. Any insight to this? Could a different steering wheel be a sign that someone cloned a satellite into a RR? I just want to make sure I know I'm getting the real deal.

thanks!

Big John

Sit back, relax Don't bitch about the cigar smoke
Reaction score
databook032.jpg

Can't say I've seen the version with the full ring in a Roadrunner, but I have seen the other three.

But!!! Don't just use the steering wheel as the way to tell what you have.

Identifying a Roadrunner starts out by looking at the VIN. It should start with "RM" the third and fourth numbers will be 21 for a coupe (post with swing out rear window), 23 for a hardtop (roll down rear windows) and 27 for a convertible. Fifth number is the real telltale. "H" is the 383 Roadruner engine. "J" is the Hemi and "M" is the 440 6 barrel.

The VIN plate on the dash should match the fender tag on the left fenderwell under the hood. Then it should match two other spots. On the radiator support, the last eight digits of the VIN should be stamped on either the top or just down from the top facing the engine. Under the trunk seal, on the left side, just back from the hinge is another spot where it's stamped.

Put these all together and you have a real Roadrunner. If you're not sure, report back and we'll help you figure it out.

w8kbrder

Reaction score