• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

440 vs 383

ArmyInspector

Reaction score
Ok right now I have a running 383, by the numbers its a 68 block, not original to the car with original heads, a torker intake and a holley 750. Do not know if a cam was put in. I picked up a 72 440 complete that will have to hit the machine shop. From what I read the heads are junk and not sure of the crank. So I can pick up cast iron heads or go aluminum, cam, new intake, carb. I am a novice, car was originally a 383 car but the original engine is long gone, so forget the numbers matching. Right now the 383 is hooked up to a 727. Probably going to keep the 727, would you go with the 440 or the 383.

A31PKG

Reaction score
Depends what you want to do with it? I say keep the 383 in it while you build a mild stroker out of the 440!
:thumbsup:

69hemibeep

Sponge Bob Square Wheels
Reaction score
ArmyInspector said:
Ok right now I have a running 383, by the numbers its a 68 block, not original to the car with original heads, a torker intake and a holley 750. Do not know if a cam was put in. I picked up a 72 440 complete that will have to hit the machine shop. From what I read the heads are junk and not sure of the crank. So I can pick up cast iron heads or go aluminum, cam, new intake, carb. I am a novice, car was originally a 383 car but the original engine is long gone, so forget the numbers matching. Right now the 383 is hooked up to a 727. Probably going to keep the 727, would you go with the 440 or the 383.
Have you checked the VIN stamped on the block near the passenger side motor mount? A 68 casting was used in some 69 cars. Just don't want to have you loose a #s match block. :yesnod:

4spd69RR

Reaction score