How to send someone a Private Message & Other info

Website Announcements & FAQ

  1. Joeychgo

    Joeychgo Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    I thought I would take this chance to explain how PMs now work.

    First, PMs are now called "Conversations" -
    This big difference is that before, each message was separate. Now each message is part of an ongoing conversation, sort of like a private thread between you and the other member only.



    How to send someone a private message
    There are 2 ways to send another member a PM.

    First, if you hover over INBOX on the top right, there will be a link to "Start a New Conversation", which if you click, brings you to a Message screen where you can name the member you want to have a private conversation with and write the first message to that person.
    1.jpg



    The second way, is from a post. If you click the user's name that you want to have a private conversation with, a panel comes up that includes a link to "Start a Conversation"
    with that person.

    2.jpg

    Easy and Simple. :)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to Delete Conversations
    You don't actually delete conversations, you "Leave" them.

    There are 2 ways to do this.
    First way, from your list of conversations, simply click the checkbox of whichever conversations you want to leave. You can select multiple conversations if you like.
    3.jpg

    A box will come up that gives you several options where you can leave the conversations, mark them unread, mark them read, etc.

    4.jpg

    You can also leave a conversation right from the conversation itself by clicking the link on the top right of the conversation.

    5.jpg


    How conversations are counted and how many you can have:
    Members can have 10 conversations at any given time. Once you 'leave' a conversation, its no longer in your mailbox and is no longer counted on your total.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2017

Share This Page