• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What order of steps do I go in for engine rebuild?

Confederate1969

Reaction score
I'm an amateur at this, being my first time ever rebuilding an engine. But I'm not asking this question without any background. I've done gobs of reading on this topic and I've gotten a lot of diversity on an answer.

So now that my block is bare and ready for cleaning and machining, I need to know what steps I should go in.

Do I get the block bored first (not knowing how far out I will have to bore to get it even and clean) and then shop for pistons to fit the new bore? The reason I ask this is that I've heard of people buying pistons first and having the block bored and getting the machinist to fit them into the bore. Doesn't seem like what I'd want to do, but what would y'all do?

Also, I was looking over my crankshaft today and all the bearings are smooth except for a teency tiny nick on one of them. I don't know what caused that along the way, but is this something that can be ground down as well?

I can't really afford nice new aluminum heads, so I have to keep the 906s. What compression should I be running to get a good street/strip car but not hurt the heads at the same time? Something like 10:1?

Big John

Sit back, relax Don't bitch about the cigar smoke
Reaction score
You'll need to buy pistons and have the block bored to fit the pistons... but really the first thing you can do is get the block to the machine shop and let them look at it and measure the bores. They should be able to tell you what oversize pistons you'll need.

Same with the crankshaft, let them measure it and it will either need to be reground or sometimes it will just need to be polished.

Confederate1969

Reaction score