• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

383 vs. 440?

cheflar

Reaction score
I am sure many of you have answered this question 1000 times, sorry here is another. I bought a 69 roadrunner with a 440 (1973 Interceptor motor), but also came with a "supposed" numbers matching 383 (which it is from 1969, but not numbers matching). I am new to the restoration (and really car world...but i have help-from a FORD guy-I know...sorry!) I know the 1969 has "906 heads", I have not checked the 440 to see what is on it, but I was told it was "rebuilt to the original 1973 Interceptor specs" about 15 years ago and has never really been run. According to almost every site I can find that would tell me that the 69-383 has more horsepower, torque, etc. than the 1973-440. SO, my question is I am trying to restore "as original" as possible, but either way here I am going to have to have a motor done? What is the major difference in the normal 1973-440 and the Interceptor 440? I have been told that standard 440 parts just won't work correctly? If I decide to take it to a machine shop and have the 440 stripped down and rebuild will anything change with the rebuild (easier vs. harder or more expensive?). Assuming that the 440 heads are NOT the 906 or a 915 (I know they were both used earlier), could I use the 906 heads on the 69-383 and would that help me a bunch? if the heads need work is it easier just to buy a set of newer edelbrock (or some other variation?). I am not really looking for a ton of power, I want it to be a nice driver with some nuts when I need it. I never plan on dragging it or anything else. I am looking either way at having one of them redone...the 383 looks REALLY rough and shows some bronzing inside and after using some plastic gauge to check a few bearings etc. it appears that ther