Electrical issue:1969 roadrunner

Electrical and Ignition

  1. Basketcase

    Basketcase Keeper of the Green

    Messages:
    14,411
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    not being a smart ass....did you try the switch on the light (this is the map light above the glove box?)
     
  2. bschomske

    bschomske Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Location:
    Rochester, New York
    I do not have a map light..but thanks for the info....
     
  3. vso737

    vso737 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    California
    __________________
    Got to LOVE that Omaha ORANGE.......................LOL
    LG,
    Mike

    005 SIDE BY SIDE- SMALLER.JPG
     
    RonLiv and Russ69Runner like this.
  4. Russ69Runner

    Russ69Runner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,357
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Location:
    Lake Wales Fl.
    Like the Rod sitting by the runner also. COOL!!!!!!!
     
  5. cosgig

    cosgig Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    The gauges may ground to the housing, which grounds through the pivot bolt at the bottom of the dash at the kick panel. Lots of times when the dash is painted or powder coated, all ground is lost because of the paint. I sanded the inside lip of the tab where the bolt goes through, and used a star washer on the bolt itself. It fixed all my accessories but one, which turned out to be a bad circuit run on the board itself.
     
  6. vso737

    vso737 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    California
    The FUEL gauge saga continues.............
    I decided to install an after market gauge. I still plan on getting the stock in dash gauge working as well. Solved the question of whether one can run two gauges off of the one sending unit. YES, you can using a double pole toggle switch. One can then choose which gauge to view by just the flip of a switch. My after market gauge works perfect but the in dash stock gauge is still NOT responding.
    The ignition swith checks out. The sending wire is good up to the toggle switch. The stock type voltage limiter I replaced with the solid state limiter is also working. I have NOT tested the solid state limiter in the car. The stock gauge works- when I removed the sending wire at the sender and ground it, the gauge moved up to the full mark. I suspect that the stock gauge is NOT getting juice. The gauge responded to the FULL mark when grounding the wire at the sender so that means the sender wire is GOOD. Have to see if the limiter checks out. I like to keep the solid state limiter so hoping it is working...........
    Pictures attached................
    LG,
    Mike

    P1130420.JPG

    P1130421.JPG

    P1130423.JPG
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2021
  7. vso737

    vso737 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    California
    __________________________________
    Home - my 1930 Ford model A sport coupe (webs.com)

    I've wanted to build a hotrod ever since high school. Finally got it done. My 5 1/2 year project is documented in the above website. My license holder reads, "BUILT NOT BOUGHT"....................
    Thanks for the compliment..........built to MY liking..................LOL
     
    Russ69Runner likes this.
  8. quikbird

    quikbird Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Location:
    columbus, ohio
    If possible check the pin on the back of the cluster. They work loose and create connection problems
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.