• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Major Setback!!

John69RR

Reaction score
Finished up graveyards this morning so I started to get the engine ready for cleaning and painting. Dropped the pan and found some metal. Main brg. 2,3 and 4 didn't look good. Took it to the machinist and had it checked. The crank is cracked. Looks like the MATS will have to wait. I questioned the cracking since I do not race and he told me that it was probably fatigue. I've been driving it for about 7 years now with no issues. He told me that they don't last forever. Looking at the 440 Source crank that is pre-cut for the 451 stroker application. A used crank plus machine work is about equal to the 440 Source one.

george68hemirr

I think you guys are full of shit.
Reaction score
man that blows.....its a good thing you found it......the block could"ve been junk....so now you can rebuild the whole engine

69hemibeep

Sponge Bob Square Wheels
Reaction score
Sorry to hear this, I was looking forward to meeting you at the MATS John :toetap:

Roadcuda

Reaction score
That does suck John. As least you found it out now and not the hard way! Did you have a lot of miles on that engine? I guess it's something else for us to worry about goinjg bad with our cars!

mcmopar

Reaction score
If you go for the 440 Source crank pay attention to what they say about having the main and rod bearings beveled. Otherwise you'll chew them up and ruin that new crank too!

Hoosier Bird

Reaction score
Sorry to hear that.......yep the 440 source crank has nice big radii in the corners.....use the right bearings..........good luck

moparchris

Reaction score