• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

One more Head/Gasket question?

a6t9vette

Reaction score
Keep in mind this is my first time doing a head gasket job. When looking at the new gasket compared to the block/head it seems as if some of the coolant ports will be blocked by the gasket, in two areas:

See pictures:
1) near the top of the block, 3 holes diagonally above "middle row" of head bolt holes, the gasket partially covers these with a slot rather then a hole.

2) near the bottom of the block, large coolant filled holes are blocked by the gasket, but I assume this is correct since the Head does not have a coolant port that aligns with these.

Hind side I wouldnt have thrown out the old gasket so I could have compared. I doubled cheked the fel Pro p/n and its correct to my block. I just dont want to find out I have a prob after I have the engine all back together. I cant imagine I have to modify the gasket, but my item #1 just doesnt seem right.

Thanks

george68hemirr

I think you guys are full of shit.
Reaction score
i would double check the part numbers with the parts store to make sure its for what you have...if its correct put her together...there must be a reason for that like slowing down the water flow..and another question....did you blow this gasket and did it overheat?? if so i would bring it to a machine shop to check to see if its warped....sometimes double checking to true up your head will save you time and money in the long run.....been there done that :toetap: :toetap: :toetap:

V269

Reaction score