• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New here with a 68, 69, and 71 Frankenbird/Satellite

DonCarter66

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a disabled Iraq war vet (too many jumps, too many broken bones, nerve damage and brain injuries lol) still haunting the streets of Pinehurst NC. Now for the good stuff.

Got my first Mopar (and first carbureted car in 21 years) in May. She has already earned her name of Miss Behavin' as I am still doing shakedowns and replacing bits that need replacing after a car sits too long. 1968 Satellite convertible, with the '69 'glass 440 6bbl hood and deck lid (looks terrible to me as the lines don't match the '68 metal), 727, 3.23:1 open 8 3/4" rear end, and an actual '71 440 6BBL engine with the iron intake, the varnish and gunk in the carbs :crazy: looks like they hadn't been messed with since about '73 or so. The previous owner did a half-baked job on the resto. Originally a 318 car with LL1 paint, she is now a little off from the Vitamin C Orange with a VERY muted pearl to it. She is a little rough around the edges, but then so am I. I figured that with all of the different year parts, it averages out to around '69. Here is a pic the day I got her home.
68convertible.jpg

Anyway, Thanks for letting me in here.
Don

george68hemirr

I think you guys are full of shit.
Reaction score
from one vet to another.....welcome..... to a great bunch of guys who will go out of there way to help.......love those 68 ragtops and she looks great ....i also did the same deal with the grill and headlite bezels

Basketcase

Keeper of the Green
Reaction score
welcome Don, thanks for your service. great looking car :thumbsup:

John69RR

Reaction score